skip to Main Content

Sudan, Military Government Dissolved. Sovereign Council Formed

It’s a done deal. The Sovereign Council that will guide Sudan to elections in 2020 has been formed. The head of Sudan’s Transitional Military Council (TMC), Abdel Fattah al Burhan, issued a constitutional decree to establish a Sovereign Council that will rule the country during a three-year transitional period.

The TMCs spokesperson and Chairman of the Political Committee, Shams al-Din Kabbashi, made the announcement at a press conference yesterday evening in Khartoum.

In his statement, Al-Kabbashi also confirmed that the council would be led by Burhan and formed by a total of 11 members – five military personnel, five civilians and an independent civilian chosen by both parties. The council will be sworn in Wednesday afternoon.

In compliance with the constitutional decree approved on August 17, the government will lead national politics during the period of transition, but will have to share command of the armed forces with the Sovereign Council.

The five members of the military that will form the Council are Burhan, his deputy head Mohamed Hamdan Dagalo alias “Hemedti”, the same Al-Kabbashi, Yasir al Atta and Ibrahim Jabir Karim, while the five civilian members are Aisha Mousa, Siddig Tower, Mohamed Elfaki Suleiman, Hassan Sheikh Idris and Taha Othman Ishaq.

Raja Nicolas Abdel-Masih was appointed as the independent member by both sides.

The nominee for Prime Minister will also be sworn in this evening in front of the Sovereign Council.

Back To Top